Oh wow. Today. It's been a day of many different shades & colors, feelings & emotions, & there have been so many varied types of occurrences. I'm still processing it all. The only way I can think of to tell you how I feel at the moment is to tell you how the day panned out, what went down, so here goes I suppose...
I started today by waking up rather late{10:19 to be exact} it was such a strange sensation, to wake up a good 1 1/2 hours later than the latest I would sleep normally, it was nice too though.
So I get out of bed, & I'm feeling pretty good. I go downstairs, eat some breakfast{at least I think I did...that's how crazy{good!!} the day was.}, & then I put in Pride & Prejudice{it's my go to movie these days:))} in order to have some motivation when it came to knitting & crocheting some items for a few different friends. It worked out nicely, I got quite a bit done on more than one project, & I was happy regardless, if only for my watching Pride & Prejudice{I will say though...I've never known that many 800-service numbers to call in 2 hours & 3 minutes before in my {short} life!!}.
After the movie was over I rushed to get ready for work, gather my things, etc. etc.
I arrived at work & got to see the lovely Emily, whom I haven't seen in a good 2 or 3 weeks I think, which was LOVELY.
Work was slow, but good. I was able to work on some school work, & I even had a strange encounter with an almost{not really...} customer. It was a man probably in his mid 40's, he came in & got three samples of the same flavor{I never did catch which one it was...} anyhow. I saw on the camera that there was a customer & I walked out to find him, standing there just licking away at one of the three samples he was holding, "hi! How are you doing tonight?" I asked him as I walked out from the back, "I'm good! Just eating samples" he replied.
"Which flavor did you try?" I asked him, "I don't know..." He replied. At this point I'm beginning to realize this could be a little weird...so I just kinda smiled & nodded my head, hoping against hope that I would be able to catch at least a few words of the mumbles he seemed to be directing at me, "I'm getting ready for the world Olympics!" I finally caught{I know nothing, about the Olympics or anything like that, so I just went along at this point} "oh no way!" I said "what do you do?" I asked him. "I'm with {such & such} elementary school." He replies.
Okay. What does elementary school have to do with the Olympics I'm wondering, but like I said I know nothing...so I just say "that's cool!" & initiate the smile & nod technique again. "You gotta be from the class of '89." He says. "Why's that?" I ask him.
"Cause that's how they made it, I guess." He replies "I'm the only downhill skier in the US"
"That's awesome!" I say
At this point he's just finished his last sample & he's still taking about the class of '89 & being the only downhill skier, while he walks towards the front again, where, I assume, he's going to get a few more sample cups. Nope. He walked right out of the store, mid-sentence too. I was more than a little baffled, but it made me laugh, & so it was worthwhile I think.
After that work continued as normal, & when closing time came I was able to finish everything quickly.
When I got home I had planned on watching The Help with Jen & Jessi, & we were ready to play it when I got a notification for an incoming Skype call!!!{which in itself was exciting, but this one was from Kendall Grafton! My newfound friend! :))} I ran upstairs{so as to avoid being a nuisance to Jen & Jess as they started the movie} & answered the call. Lo & behold though, it wasn't Kendall's face that greeted me, nor her voice, but Dallas Lobdell's instead! At this point I was petty confused...why was Dallas skyping me on Kendall's Skype??? They explained though, that he was merely hanging out & so they were both skyping me, I was just unable to see Kendall at first. :))
We talked for about a half hour, about our days, & Jen{she came in fairly early on & met Kendall}. It was a lovely time, & we were even able to screen shot the memory!{my thumb even decided to be a part of the fun & managed to take up half of Jen & I's itty screen. :))}
After the call we went downstairs & finished The Help, & I got even MORE work done on one of my crocheting projects.
After the movie I went back upstairs ready for bed, & sleep. Lo & behold though....have you ever experienced what it is like to find a leaking FULL gallon of milk in ones bed, come bedtime? I never had either, at least until tonight. My days blessings came crashing down. I was so angry. I was ready to chuck that now half full gallon of milk at the nearest person. How does that even happen?! I don't even drink milk!! I was at a complete loss. I was pretty upset. As I was pulling the sheets off to throw into the wash, so as to avoid as much sour milk smell as possible, I realize that it soaked through, not only, the sheet, but the under sheet thingy too, & got the mattress. My night was quickly going beyond downhill. Why?! It was such a good day! Why?! I kept asking myself.
After getting the wash in & the remaining milk put away where it belonged, I gathered my things & am now in a little "bed"{it's the couch}, going over my day in my head. & whoowee. What a day it was. I'm still frazzled because of that darn milk, but by writing it all down, & rehashing all the good things from today, I realize that a sour milk mattress isn't bad at all. We'll figure it out, there's no need to worry about it. I've realized that those "little things" are actually really big deals! Like one measly bad thing happens, & the day is horrible! But it should be the other way around, it shouldn't take so many good things to make a day good, I shouldn't have to sit down and recount the whole day to remember to thank God for all the blessings found therein. I should immediately think to thank God that only a portion of my mattress has milk on it, rather than screaming why in his face over it.
Moral of this all is to say, or more remind myself, to not make a big deal about such silly things, & be thankful for the LARGE blessings He showers on me.
So with that, my Dear Friends, I bid you all a goodnight. :))
No comments:
Post a Comment